Blue light battles

circadian-rhythm-420x470

The sugar detox has encouraged me to experiment with other states of my well being. This past week I engaged in a night time phone detox. I have read numerous articles in the past about how blue light from cell phones, televisions, etc. interfere with the brains natural ability to disengage and recognize night time.

For example http://www.health.harvard.edu/staying-healthy/blue-light-has-a-dark-side

And the more specific

https://www.soundsleepinstitute.com/sleep-tips/cell-phone-causes-sleep-problems/

circadian-rhythm.jpg

So I told my close friends who I regularly text, that unless I am out on the town, my phone will be turned off at 7:00 p.m. (I go to sleep between 9:00 p.m. and 9:30 p.m.) This gives me two hours to disengage. The first night I did this, I was feeling sleepy by 9:00 p.m. It felt riveting to become tired so naturally, with no distractions. Another added benefit was it made my time at home in the evening feel twice as long. I encourage anyone to try this, even for a week.

The deeper lesson in all of this lies in one’s ability to cut through the noise, the filters, the updates, the time wasters-because in five years, none of those things will matter. It’s all visual junkfood.

I am also an early bird. I enjoy long, slow mornings. It felt nice to drag out both ends of each day this week. If you’re looking for more peace of mind, relaxation, and time for solace-try to disengage with the noise.

P.S. in searching for an image to accompany this post I stumbled upon the below product. Would you use it? Do you feel you use your phone too much?

http://www.thelightphone.com/#getthelightphone

Leave a Reply

